A Grilled Cheese Sandwich Adventure

Chef John’s Grilled Cheese

Believe it or not, I made a grilled cheese sandwich for the first time in July of this year. I’d eaten the ‘dish’ several times as a child but never made one myself – even at the ripe old age of 27. So, as you can imagine, I started my search for a grilled cheese sandwich recipe on google. Many of them were the same so I simply picked one of the first ones I found and got started. 30 minutes later, I enjoyed my first personally made, slightly overdone grilled cheese sandwich. 🙂

I became a bit obsessed following this experience, eating grilled cheese sandwiches for breakfast and dinner over the next few days using the same recipe I started with. Eventually and naturally, I became bored. I still craved grilled cheese sandwiches but I just wanted to know what people added to their sandwiches to ‘jazz it up’ : ingredients, recipe steps, anything that would put a special spin on the recipe. For this task, instead of turning to Google, I turned to Pinterest. Looking through recipes on Pinterest was an entirely different experience. Evaluating recipes visually helped me easily identify ingredients I hadn’t thought to add to my grilled cheese and even entire dishes that could go along with it like tomato basil soup.

I eventually found a recipe that put cheese on the OUTSIDE of the grilled cheese sandwich as well as inside. Imagine my surprise when I noticed that the recipe creator was none other than Chef John. We have tried several of Chef John’s recipes but never stumbled across his take on the classic grilled cheese sandwich :

Needless to say, it was delicious! The taste of caramelized cheese was entirely different from the taste of simple melted cheese and I highly recommend that you try this recipe sometime.

All in all, what an adventure! It was interesting to me how pinterest and google served such different purposes in my two searches. The burning question left in my mind, however, is : how do you find ways to ‘jazz up’ a recipe in fun and interesting ways? Do you turn to people? Improvise in the kitchen yourself? Inspect recipes at the recipe site? Use Pinterest? I’d love to hear.


Leave a Reply

